2018 Annual Membership Meeting Reflects on End of Era, Looks Ahead for MCIT

October 01, 2018

Minnesota Counties Intergovernmental Trust will celebrate its 40th anniversary in 2019. In preparing for this milestone, MCIT invites members to the 2018 annual membership meeting to learn first-hand how the efforts of the past 39 years have positioned the Trust to face the opportunities and challenges of the future.

The 2018 Annual Membership Meeting is Dec. 3 at the Doubletree Hotel in Bloomington, Minn. Registration begins at 3:30 p.m., and the board chair calls the meeting to order at 4 p.m. in Atrium 4. Once again the meeting is held in conjunction with the Association of Minnesota Counties Conference.

Highlights of the MCIT Annual Meeting are the presentation of the MCIT financial statement, election of officers, announcement of award winners and a report from the executive director.

MCIT would not exist without the vision and ongoing commitment of Minnesota counties. Members are encouraged to take this opportunity to join fellow MCIT members in celebrating the past and recommitting to building the future of MCIT together.

Election Time

Don Diedrich, MCIT Board Secretary-Treasurer
Don Diedrich, MCIT Board Secretary-Treasurer

Unlike an insurance company where decisions are made by a board of directors focused on profit, members of a pool elect representatives that reflect their interests. During the 2018 Annual Meeting, each county member has the opportunity to cast a vote for who it wants to oversee the operations of MCIT for the next four years.

This year, one seat is up for election. Polk County Commissioner Don Diedrich is seeking re-election to a four-year term that expires Dec. 31, 2022. He was first elected to the MCIT Board in 2010. He has served as MCIT Secretary/Treasurer since 2017 and has been a member of the Governance Committee since 2012.

MCIT’s board of directors is responsible to set the strategic direction of MCIT, oversee the operations of the organization, and represent the Trust as an ambassador and spokesperson for the organization. The board generally meets monthly and members serve on committees as needed.

Any county commissioner, auditor or auditor-treasurer interested in being a candidate for the MCIT Board may submit a letter of interest and qualifications to the MCIT Nominating Committee, 100 Empire Drive, Suite 100, St. Paul, MN 55103-1885 by the close of business Nov. 8. The committee reviews all submissions. Questions regarding the election can be directed to MCIT Deputy Director Steve Nelson at or toll-free at 1.866.547.6516, ext. 6411.

Details about the election and the roles and responsibilities of an MCIT Board member will be mailed to commissioners, auditors and auditor-treasurers the week of Oct. 8.

About the MCIT Board of Directors

MCIT is governed by a board of nine individuals elected or appointed from counties that participate in the Trust. Eight of the board seats are at-large positions with four-year terms that can be filled by either a county commissioner or a county auditor/auditor-treasurer. The remaining seat is filled by appointment of the board based upon a recommendation from the Minnesota Association of County Administrators.

When a board member leaves his or her county position during his or her term on the MCIT Board, the position is declared a vacancy. A vacancy is filled by appointment of the remaining members of the board until the next Annual Membership Meeting, at which time the expired term is filled by election.

MCIT Presents Workshop at AMC Conference

MCIT invites members to attend the workshop “1 Watershed, 1 Plan: Practical Considerations for Working Together” during the Association of Minnesota Counties Conference Dec. 3 at 1:15 p.m. Presenters include MCIT Senior Staff Counsel for Risk Control Jennifer Wolf and Board of Water and Soil Resources 1 Watershed 1 Plan Coordinator Julie Westerlund.

Reminder: Visit MCIT at the AMC Resource Fair to talk with MCIT staff and board members.