2021 Annual Meeting: Looking Forward to Seeing You There

October 08, 2021

After convening virtually last year, MCIT is excited to host the 2021 Annual Membership Meeting in person Dec. 6 at the Double Tree Hotel in Bloomington. Registration begins at 3:30 p.m. with the meeting starting at 4 p.m. in Atrium 4 (second floor). The meeting is held in conjunction with the Association of Minnesota Counties Annual Conference.

Members are encouraged to join their colleagues, MCIT board members and staff to celebrate the continued success of the Trust. Highlights of this year’s annual meeting include:

  • Financial report for the year ending Dec. 31, 2020
  • Election of officers
  • Announcement of 2021 MCIT Award winners
  • Past accomplishments and future goals

Board Member Elections

Ron Antony
Ron Antony

Two seats are up for election at the MCIT annual meeting. Seat A is held by incumbent Yellow Medicine County Commissioner Ron Antony who is seeking re-election to a four-year term that expires Dec. 31, 2025. Seat B is held by Becker County Commissioner Ben Grimsley, seeking election to complete the four-year term to which he was appointed earlier this year. His term would expire Dec. 31, 2022.

Antony began his service on the board in February 2017. During his tenure, he has been a member of the Claims Committee (2019-2021), Governance Committee (2019-2021) and the Personnel Committee (2021). Antony was elected vice chair of the board in January 2021 and continues to serve in that position.

Ben Grimsley
Ben Grimsley

Grimsley was appointed to the MCIT board in February 2021 to fill the unexpired term of former Polk County Commissioner Don Diedrich, who left the board at the end of 2020. Grimsley is a current member of the MCIT audit committee. He is serving in his third term on the Becker County Board of Commissioners, has served two terms as Becker County Board chair and participates on multiple committees.

Call for Candidates

The MCIT Board of Directors is responsible for setting the strategic direction of the Trust and overseeing the operations of the organization, while its members represent MCIT as ambassadors and spokespeople. The board generally meets monthly, and members serve on committees as needed.

Any county commissioner, auditor or auditor-treasurer interested in being a candidate for the MCIT board may submit a letter of interest and qualifications to the MCIT Nominating Committee, 100 Empire Drive, Suite 100, St. Paul, MN 55103-1885 or to by the close of business Nov. 10. The committee reviews all submissions.

MCIT is governed by a board of nine individuals elected or appointed from MCIT participating counties. Eight of the board seats are elected at-large with staggered four-year terms that can be filled by either a county commissioner or a county auditor/auditor-treasurer. The remaining seat is filled by appointment based upon a recommendation from the Minnesota Association of County Administrators.

Details about the election and the roles and responsibilities of an MCIT board member have been mailed to commissioners, auditors and auditor-treasurers.

Questions regarding the election can be directed to MCIT Deputy Director Steve Nelson at or toll-free at 1.866.547.6516, ext. 6411.